Meet Emily

Hello, my name is Emily and I am a 21 year old student at UMD. In the fall, I will be attending The Ohio State University School of Law, with an interest in criminal law and legislation. In our country, there has been injustice against African Americans by police officers and I believe there should be serious reform within our police system. This reform will help make our society more equal and will ensure the safety of American citizens. These issues our country is facing can easily be fixed with the right legislation and that is something that our lawmakers should focus their efforts on. Hopefully by creating this blog, some viewers will see the flaws in our police system and want to do something about it.

Apart from my interest in legislation and criminal law, I have personal experiences that make me so passionate about this topic. A few of my friends and family members have been victims of police brutality and have not received justice. Many of these incidents could have been prevented through the use of body worn cameras and other changes within our police system. To me, the police is not the enemy. There are a few bad cops out there who are responsible for injustices occurring. However, the entire system needs to be reformed in order to prevent the bad cops from getting away with their crimes.

es

Leave a Reply

